Ben – Living With a Blind Cocker Spaniel

A lot has happened since my last blog. Forgive me, readers and followers. We have been so busy.

Well, one reason I couldn’t sit down and write on was that our Dina had to be put to sleep. She had cancer in her last stadium and we never even had noticed it. She only got slower on our walks, panting more than usual, stopping during walks to sit down and, the last day before I took her to the vet, she didn’t walk in the fields at all, she went straight back to our car after about 20 metres. When the vet told his diagnosis, I was heart broken, devastated; crying my eyes out. We decided at the vet’s to take her home, if only for another day to say Good Bye. She slept with us in our bed, I, holding her head up all night because she couldn’t breathe when laying down due to the fluids in her lungs. In the morning, we took her to the vet. I cannot put into words what was going on in my head. Nothing. Terror, Fear. Guilt. I was trembling and my blood pressure went up to the extreme. My Eric supported me as good as he could because his love for our dogs is incredible; now, he had also to take care of me. My struggling Dina, slowly drowning of body fluids in her lungs, perfectly knew what was going on. She looked into my eyes, calm. They say, dogs live in the moment. Oh, what am I saying? This moment tore my heart to pieces. I cannot put into words those moments, forgive me. I don’t want to. I remember Dina, always will, as the most gentle, quiet, soft girl she was. Adorable. Her ashes are in our living room with candles and a picture – her in the garden, her favourite spot, thinking, looking and sniffing my flowers. Now, who never had a dog, a Cocker Spaniel, stop reading! I am not silly; not crazy. I am living with dogs since early childhood. Cocker Spaniels are – people would say – my hobby. They are far more. They share my life, they are my companions through life.

Our Molly, Dina’s daughter was mated 5 days before this all happened. She had a litter of three puppies, one boy, two girls. You might guess? I had to keep one grand child of my Dina, the one more in character like her than the others. She’s black, Dina was chocolate chip roan. Not looking like her but, I feel Dina’s spirit in her! Don’t laugh. I told you, stop reading if you don’t know about dogs!

The boy and the multi coloured girl are sold and will be picked up on the 20th of September when they are 8 weeks old. I did my utmost to find good families for them. The multi coloured girl is going to a local family; they promised to keep in touch. The boy is going to a work mate of my Eric. The multi coloured girl I’ve sold to a family with two lovely daughters. Actually, I’ve sold her to the older daughter. A girl who bonded with the puppy and the puppy with her. A family with dog experience and – I judge by my heart – who, I think, will love her and care for her and give her a forever home. I am happy with my decision, really happy. Eight weeks with puppies from birth till they go – well, they are your heart!

I am not a professional breeder and not a ‘backyard breeder’ by any means. I love m dogs and especially Cocker Spaniels. Let me tell you why, so you might understand.

15 years ago, I have moved to the U.K. I was alone, terribly alone. My Eric and I thought about getting a dog. We looked in the internet, up and down. The dog would have to be not ‘too big’, sporty, intelligent. No ‘lap dog’, no giant, not aggressive. We wanted a dog who would fit into our life.Into our little house and back garden.  Accidentally, I hit an English Cocker Spaniel page and instantly knew: that’s the one! Since then, I could not imagine living without this breed! I love all dogs. I am a dog lover, with passion!!! I love all – or most – animals on this planet. But, the English Cocker Spaniels is something special! Highly intelligent, loyal, playful, sporty, not too big for nowadays lifestyle. Not aggressive. Good with children within families. The eyes, the eyes, the eyes, the ever wagging tail! His desire is always to please.

I’ve never bred for profit. Believe me or not, I don’t care. I am breeding every few years to keep this kind of dogs at their best! I am passionate about  not breeding for profit!!!! I am active on many levels against our human, profit loving abuse of animals! My dogs are part of the family. I would say, the greatest part of my life! I’ve had mutts. I’ve had several dogs during my lifetime ( a long life, I know, I am blessed). The English Cocker Spaniel is a breed which will accompany me till the end, I am sure of it.

‘A dog is not only for Christmas!’ A cheesy, silly sticker on cars. But, it is true! Puppies are hard work to train and care for them. But, let me tell you, the reward is out of this world! Wolves have accompanied us through aeons and, at the end of the day, each and every dog is a wolf at heart. on’t take it lightly! Don’t choose by colour which suits your house, don’t chose by fashion. Go with your heart! The puppy chooses you! Look into their eyes! Connect!

Most of all, have a look at shelter dogs! Puppies are gorgeous, but not only for Christmas! Shelters are full of dogs which deserve better. I’ve had shelter dogs and they were great till the end. Be their ‘top dog’, guide them through life and, I am sure, your reward is connection with nature and what life is about! A dog’s love is unconditional. Unlike our human love.

I’ve sold my special puppy to a wonderful family! Actually, I’ve sold it to their daughter. I’ve seen myself in her. There is a bond which cannot be explained but, I spot it. May her time with my little puppy be blessed.

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Ben – Living With a Blind Cocker Spaniel

  1. Pingback: Ben – Living With a Blind Cocker Spaniel | Ben - living with a blind dog

  2. hope

    hi ben its hope the girl your selling the multi-coloured special puppy to. I’m boroughing my dads computer to leave this comment. I read your amazing paragraphs about the puppies and about your dog that unfortunantly died and I’m really sorry about that she sounded like an amazing dog. but moving away from that so I don’t remind u. I am happy to said yes for me keeping your special muli-coloured dog. we have already thought of a name and she is called faith. she will be my forever dog and I cant wait until next Tuesday to collect her and take her home it might be a bit said for you but you will be keeping a puupy and we will send photos of her to you to see her grow. I am so happy u and Sylvia said yes and knew right there and then we were a ,match. the perfect match. maybe she was a bit scared on the first day cos wed only just met her but the next day she wouldn’t leave me alone she knew that I loved her and she loved me. I a so happy right now. I am crying of joy. I cant wait to take her home. thank u to Sylvia aswell for saying yes I hoped you liked the flowers. I am so happy it was a magic bond straight away and the photo of her with the toy we gave her had filled our hearts with joy we are so happy she loves us and we are happy we love her. hopefully we can see her Tuesday after school if that is alright have a play with her and hugs. hopefully see Tuesday and thank u so much xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • skadiwinter

      Thank you, Hope, for your heart warming email. You are a special girl and deserve a special dog. Unfortunately, I cannot keep all the puppies but, knowing little Faith goes to such a lovely young person, makes me really happy. Faith and I know, it was the right decision to make. Whenever you have a question about her or would like to contact me, I will always do my best to answer your questions. Bringing me flowers was such a lovely thing to do. I am looking forward to seeing you and your lovely family this afternoon. x

      Like

Leave a comment